Board of Directors


DERMOTT JEWELL (B.Sc. Mgmt, Law), Chairperson, is the Policy and Council Advisor at the Consumers’ Association of Ireland. His current representations include the Legal Services Regulatory Authority, the Financial Services Ombudsman Council, the Banking Stakeholder Group of the European Banking Authority, the Chartered Institute of Arbitration with accreditations in Employment Investigation and Mediation from the Mediators’ Institute of Ireland. He is also a Director of the Investor Compensation Company Ltd at the Central Bank of Ireland and the national representative on the European Commission’s Consumer Consultative Group.


PAUL BRENNAN is an Assistant Principal official at the Competition and Consumer Policy Unit within the Commerce, Consumer and Competition Division of the Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation and serves as a member of the Board of Management of the European Consumer Centre of Ireland since 2013.


BRIAN FARRELL is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants and Head of Oversight of Link Fund Manager Solutions Limited. He was previously Chief Financial Officer of Londinium DAC, a Vice-President in compliance and regulatory practice and manager of Duff & Phelps. He has held finance roles with Goldman Sachs and a number of investment firms in Australia and Ireland.


CLAIRE LANIGAN (BA Business, MBA) has more than 25 years’ experience working in the financial services sector. Her appointments include Head of the Investment Banks and Broker Dealers, Asset Management Supervision and Banking Supervision in the Central Bank of Ireland; Head of Credit at Cantor Fitzgerald and management positions with the Allied Irish Bank Corporate in North America. During 2020, Claire moved to a new role of Chief Risk Officer with Wells Fargo bank.

THE FINANCE, AUDIT AND RISK COMMITTEE of the ECC Ireland board oversees financial control, budget management, internal controls and risk management. It is chaired by a qualified accountant, BRIAN FARRELL, and has four members responsible for monitoring and reviewing the statutory financial statements and other financial information provided, the independent auditors including their qualifications and independence, the accounting, budgetary and financial reporting process, and the system of internal controls and enterprise risk management.